Human here…

Hi world, I am the person with thumbs behind the blog. Contrary to what Henry (AKA The CAT) says, *I* do not blather on. What I have to say is actually quite important, at least to me. Henry, however, like most cats, has a fairly low opinion of anything that does not involve catnip, food, napping, or leaving a steamer in the litter pan right after its been cleaned. Evil little brat. I tell him he’s lucky he’s cute about 20 times a day.

So onto all my thoughts that are fit to print (and some that probably may not be)…..

A lot of what I have been seeing in the news as of late swirls (not unlike a flushing toilet) around the politics of this country (the US). I frankly am embarrassed for us. To the rest of the world, we must collectively look like the biggest fools. We get Trump blowing hot air and whining like a child over the Republicans not embracing him as the end all be all savior of American government and then there are the rest of the GOP candidates. I’ve lost track of how many of them are trying to run. All of them seem to be pretty much cut from the same cloth. IMHO, they all seem to be the screaming, bellowing pseudo Christian-type that claim that this is a Christian country. If any of them would bother to actually read up on our history, they would find out that the opposite is actually true. We were founded on the idea of freedom from religion. Not that practicing any religion is a bad thing, certainly not. Pushing what you believe in onto me however is. Is that not kind of like the Sharia Law that so many of them claim will never be implemented here? Just saying.

I honestly am having a hard time respecting much out of this circus. I will vote because I am grateful for having the privilege to do so, but I am afraid that whoever eventually gets elected will simply be whoever’s clown car gets to the finish line first.

I happen to be registered Independent, not because I have any preference of one party over the other, but simply because at the time I chose an affiliation, I had a pretty low opinion of the both sides. So that being said, I am neither staunch Democrat or Republican. It seems like those are just names anyhow and the true meaning of what those parties originally stood for has long since been lost in the bowels of the political money machine.

Over the recent years of the implementation of the Affordable Care Act, I have observed many on the Republican side screeching like banshees for the repeal of this act. While yes, they (by this I mean the collective “they”) of the Republican side have the right to have that opinion, I am seeing two things. One, the screams for repeal seem to be rooted in the obvious hate of Obama. The other thing is that not a single one of them seemed to be able to come up with an alternative. The ACA may not be the best thing on the planet, and as a person who obtains her health insurance through the bolloxed up thing called the Marketplace, I can say a few things. Yes it is expensive. Yes it is downright infuriating to have to deal with poorly trained customer reps and yes, it involves some of the stupidest particulars I have ever seen. BUT, I also have insurance and while I was unemployed, I was able to keep some damn good coverage. The screamers, I think fail to realize that for people like me, who absolutely must have access to care, a return to the old days of insurance companies refusing to cover me, no matter how much I pay because I have the misfortune of being ill, and the days of enduring employment at a job you despise solely because you need the benefits, the ACA is a godsend. it’s not perfect, not by a longshot, but it’s better than what we had before. Are there still people with crappy coverage or no coverage? Yes. Is that number drastically lower than ever before. An unequivocal yes!

Obama is definitely not the second coming of the Messiah. He’s pulled some boneheaded moves, I agree. But contrary to what the GOP bellows about, it is not all bad. It’s not like any of them are any better.

Granted the issues in point here only scratch the surface and I am by no means well schooled in the vagaries of politics, but I think my observations are what is obvious to the American Joe Public. Instead of educated professional news coverage of the on-goings in Washington, we get the slanted, overly opinionated talking heads of Fox, CNN and the rest. I’m so tired of that crap, I get a headache just thinking about it. I can assure you that I tuned out that garbage a long time ago.

The last thing I’ve got to say, is if this is an example of the face that we show to the rest of the planet, it is no wonder that we are fast becoming (if not already) the laughing stock of modern humanity. That, people, makes me very sad.

Until the next time I feel the need to vent….

Leave a Reply

